I hate beer…….or do I……

Standard

While killing time on Twitter, I saw some intriguing tweets.  My friends were spending the afternoon on a cruise ship.  They got a tour, had lunch, hung out at the pool, all things that are right up my alley!  And when I inquired how I could get in on this action, @NCLFreestyle invited me for their next event! 

On July 22, @fsutoby and I got to tour the #NCLSky with Staci (@Stacismail), Carlos (@SocialMediaPuto), Sebastian (@sebrusk) and Annette (@thepumagirl)l  What a fabulous ship!  The beauty of Freestyle cruising is the ability to do what you want, when you want.  There are no set dining times like on other cruises in the two main dining rooms, which are included with the cruise.  There are four specialty restaurants, French, Italian and steak and I believe you make a reservation for these when you want to enjoy them. 



We toured the spa (which spelled amazing), the activity areas, the gorgeous staterooms and the pool.  Ahhhh, the pool.  That was where our tour ended and the tasting began.  I have always thought I hated beer…..until this tasting.  Scott, our Miller Coors guide through the world of beer, changed how I feel about beer forever.  During the tasting, he showed us how beer, when paired with the right foods, could change the taste of the food and the beer.  We started with Miller Light, paired with chips, salsa and quesadilla (check spelling.  Scott explained that the carbination in the beer scrubs the taste buds, that tend to lie down from the oils in food.  I wasn’t in love with the Miller Light, but I liked it more than I thought that I would.

 

 

 



The next beer we tried was Blue MoonThis beer is fabulous with seafood.  The hint of citrus in it can be magnified by adding an orange.  Some leave the orange on the side and use the aroma of the orange to highten the taste of the orange in the beer.  Personally, I like to squeeze the orange in to make it a bit sweeter.


The last beer we tasted was Foster, which went great with the pigs and a blanket and mini sliders.  Of course, all I could think of was the Foster’s commericals. Foster’s, Austrailian for beer (said in my best Aussie accent).

After the tasting, we had some bar-b-que lunch and spent some time lounging in the pool.  Being that it was about 400 degrees outside, that was the perfect way to spend the afternoon.  After an hour and a half or so in the pool, it was time for us to leave.  I’m not going to lie, I did have a fleeting thought of stowing away, but was able to curtail it and head off into the sunset, which the NCLSky went on to adventures in the Bahamas and to the Norwegean private island.  But I left with a new appreciation for beer, a tan and a plan to start saving for a cruise next summer.

Leave a Reply

