It Started Where It All Began

Standard

Screen Shot 2015-06-07 at 9.24.38 AM

Today, I ran my first 5K. I’m starting to train to run the Disney Princess Half Marathon in Feb. It’s been on my bucket list for awhile and when I got an e-mail announcing sign ups, I decided this was a good a time as any. The run I did today was Run for Ribbons to support autism and it was housed at Boca Regional Hospital. This is where my niece Maddie was born, but she was transported to Joe DiMaggio shortly after her birth. The short version of her story is she had brain cancer in utero and survived for a week before donating her heart to a baby in Arkansas. I will post the long version another time.

IMG_0341

In the short time that Maddie was here, she touched so many lives and changed us all forever. You cannot hold a baby that you love more than you can express, knowing that she’s not going to survive and that your gift to her is letting her go. Screen Shot 2015-06-07 at 9.34.33 AM

So the run. I posted the day before that I am training for this 13.1 mile run and that I am going to be one of those annoying runners who posts stuff all  the time. I need the motivation. I need the accountability. I need my head examined, lol. The support I have already received has been amazing. I am truly blessed to have so many people in my corner.  My friend Kristi suggested I get the Zombie 5K run app. It had great reviews, so I thought I’d give it a go. The app is great! It has a story line and then plays your music in-between. What I can’t seem to figure out is how to change the song selection. So I was at the mercy of fate with my music. Screen Shot 2015-06-07 at 9.38.23 AM

I was about halfway through when a song from the Smash soundtrack came on (if only I could figure out which one). I started thinking about the half marathon and that I am dedicating it to Maddie. I lost it. I was a sobbing mess. I had to wave off another runner and tell her I was OK, as I sobbed and ran. Everything just hit me. The sadness of losing Maddie, the pain of my family, the joy and sadness the other family must have felt getting her heart, everything. And then, she was there. I could feel her beside me. The run got easier for awhile and I was fine. Then I would hear lyrics to another song and lose it all over again. But through it all, I know that she’s with me. I know that this journey I’m on is the right one. I will be healthier and stronger and will connect with her when I run.

Screen Shot 2015-06-07 at 9.25.31 AMScreen Shot 2015-06-07 at 9.25.14 AM

To all of you joining me and supporting me on the is journey, I thank you. Your support means the world to me and helps me to keep going. I hope that I will inspire you to your own journey.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

